Sometimes Life Really Sucks, But That’s Not The Point

6013_1177819438112_1006919220_554728_3756367_n_2_3

If you’re reading this and you’re not particularly religious, then I’m sorry if I offend.  However, I am religious and I gain most if not all of my strength from my faith.

Yesterday morning I was having somewhat of a pity party because of stupid migraines and Jessie’s attachment to them.  I decided to take the old treadmill for a walk, listen to a sermon on my ipod (sick, I know) and try to calm down.  It’s funny how the sermon always seems to match whatever worries I’m having at the moment.

Long story short, I learned about the importance of being “fishers of men” and that no matter how insignificant we think we are and how crappy our luck is, we are all given that one important job in life.  We’re set upon a path which, IF our hearts are willing and open, will help others – sometimes even without our knowledge.  The lecturer went on to say that most often, it’s not a pastor who leads someone else in faith because people expect to hear the lecture from a church leader.  It’s the people who have made it though terrible situations who will inspire others.

I’m done trying to figure out WHY Jessie was given this lot right now, but it sure is comforting knowing that the way she’s handled her situation could be an inspiration to others, maybe even strengthening their faith in the process.

Isn’t that a cool thought?  It’s a small thought, but all the same, pretty cool.

So, what’s the point?  For me, the point is to not constantly curse a crappy situation (although I’m sure I’ll do it from time to time), to make it my goal to stay focused on the positive, inject humor whenever possible (although not today), and pray.    🙂

What do you do to pull yourself up?

2 Comments

Filed under Daily Chronicle

2 responses to “Sometimes Life Really Sucks, But That’s Not The Point

  1. I’ve always thought there must be a purpose to why I have CFS. I know part of it is to teach me. I just don’t know exactly what I’m to learn! I also know that God usually doesn’t send angels to help people — he sends other people to be his angels.

    So, your question: what do I do to pull myself up? First, I allow myself to wallow. 🙂 Reaching out to others, usually through my blog friends, helps me to feel I’m not alone. Prayer, lots of prayer, to give me perspective and strength. I remind myself of the blessings I have, both in spite of and because of CFS. Finally, I turn to my family and get too busy to stay sad very long!

  2. Sue

    You’re absolutely right, Lori, and I comfort myself with very similar thoughts. Having the ability to help others means so much to me – it always has, but that has taken on a whole new meaning since CFS. These thoughts help to bring some meaning to an otherwise senseless illness.

    Sue

Leave a Reply

