The Slacker

Who me???

Who me???

Who me?  My daughter?  My son?  Hubby? (Not hubby)  I guess it is to be somewhat allowed during the summer so I’ll take responsibility.  Here’s a brief update.

After the trip last week, Jes was quite exhausted for about 2-3 days.  (Heck, we all were)  When she couldn’t take my yapping and complaining about her unbelievably disgusting bedroom, she perked up and did a two day major clean resulting in two full garbage bags full of junk.  How do teenagers do that?  Anyway, she’s better now and has even spent time at the neighborhood pool “networking” for baby-sitting jobs.

We went to the neurologist last week.  I SO  immensely enjoyed telling the doctor that, against his suggestion to take Jessie to a hospital to see a psychiatrist (because he couldn’t find the cause of the migraines) and through stubbornness and research we found that the migraines actually came from Neurally Mediated Hypotension – not depression.  HA!  I love it when things like that happen.  The physician’s assistant was thrilled that we found the culprit.  The doctor didn’t have much to say.  Maybe because he was WRONG.  Uh-oh.  Is my attitude showing?  Need to check that.  Seriously, I’m not debating that depression can result from having a chonic illness.  Everyone knows that it does.  However, if I’ve learned one thing in the past several years, it’s to trust your instinct and be an advocate!  That gut feeling is always worth investigating.

So, summer has begun.  Things are still a little busy, but a good busy.  We’re taking road trips to visit friends – always fun.

Have a great week.

3 Comments

Filed under Daily Chronicle

3 responses to “The Slacker

  1. I absolutely love my family doctor – she was the first to recognize I had CFS and the first to try treating it – but she will never admit she’s wrong either!! I think it’s a doctor/ego thing. Drives me crazy.

    Glad you’ve all recovered from your trip and am so jealous Jess cleaned her room and threw away two bags! Jamie is a total packrat. I did make him clean up the piles of torn-up notebooks lying all over the house since school ended. At first he just pushed them into a sort-of pile and said he’d keep them all! I finally got him to do some sorting and trashing. Much more of that to come after our vacation…

    Hope you enjoy this next trip.

    Sue

    • Living Chronically

      Sue,
      I hope you and your family have a great 3-week vacation. WOW. That’s huge. Have lots of fun and get lots of rest.

  2. That is so awesome. Doctors do not like to be wrong, nor do they like to be questioned or disagreed with. Good for you for doing what you did. Have an awesome summer!

Leave a Reply

