Daily Archives: March 18, 2009

A Reason To Celebrate

 

A sad photo...but SOOO good!

A sad photo...but SOOO good!

 

No, Jessie isn’t magically better.  She’s still plugging along.  I guess the first night was a fluke and it’s taking a bit to get the medicine back into her system.  I think she’s improving at a snail’s pace.  Still no school, but I’m hopeful that today she’ll wake up a bit more refreshed and can go in for a couple of classes.

Last night my husband got some really good news with his job and I’m not allowed to give specifics.  But suffice it to say that we made Jessie go out for a celebratory dinner last night.  We went to Outback and at the end of the meal, Jessie begged me to share a Chocolate Thunder From Down Under.  I was so full from my dinner that I couldn’t.  We let her order it anyway because it’s one of the only places we know of that offers a gluten-free dessert.  Even if you can gobble gluten happily, you haven’t lived until you’ve tried this dessert.  It’s to die for.  

In the end, keeping the tradition and philosophy for all women around the world, I ate chocolate, and ate, and ate.  Jessie and I attacked that dessert like nothing I’ve ever seen. The guys were talking and a few minutes after we’d received the dessert, they happened to glance in our direction.  Their mouths fell open and they died laughing.  The plate was completed clean and we looked like two fat cats who’d just eaten the prized canary!  

After dinner, we came straight home, put on our jammies (not the guys – that would just be wrong), piled onto the sofa and all four of us watched American Idol.  Go Megan, aka – Twirly Girl.

1 Comment

Filed under Daily Chronicle