Hello Sleep

I made the executive decision yesterday to put Jessie back on the Pamelor.  After another sleepless night and the knowledge that I will be lucky if I can talk to a doctor by Tuesday, I called the pharmacist to get advise.  He said, go ahead and put her on the full dose. YAY!  She wasn’t happy about it, but I told her at least this pill is small!  (And we are talking about a SMART teenager here.  The logic is just out the window.)  Anyway, she got two doses yesterday and I gave her a little melatonin last night as falling asleep is the problem.  I asked how long it will be before we see the effect of the pills and dear pharmacist advised that two or three days should do it; she may even see some effect after a couple of doses.  YAY again.  

This weekend has been rainy.  I have been as lazy as a slug, maybe worse.  I’ve been cleaning out my magazine collection (wink wink) and doing laundry.  Yep, quite slug-like.  I didn’t even have it in me to feel guilty when the guys came in from this duathlon.  Jeff has a terrible cold and he had to park cars, then marshall somewhere on the course in the pouring rain. Wes had to ride the sloppy, muddy course before the race began to make sure everything was still in place. (I will add here that this is actually fun to a 19 year old.)

Jessie had a new book to read this weekend, so I didn’t see her very much.  Looks like today will be more of the same.  First day is fun, after that it gets old.  

Sorry.  In all of my sluggishness, I should have come up with a wonderfully interesting blog post for today.  Alas, when the body is a slug, so is the mind.  My thought for the day.

Have a nice, quiet Sunday.

5 Comments

Filed under Daily Chronicle

5 responses to “Hello Sleep

  1. Living Chronically

    She slept! Yippee!

  2. I’m so glad! I think it was the right thing to do. If you can’t get any sleep, you have absolutely no framework for getting better. This isn’t the kind of disease where the doctors give you a pill, you take it, and then you magically get better. Instead, it seems like you take a treatment to control the symptoms, you live as healthy as possible, you take care of yourself, and your body improves little by little. That’s why I always think in terms of “recovery” rather than “cure.”

  3. Sue

    So glad to hear she’s doing better!! Getting good sleep definitely makes a big difference. Jamie and I take the liquid nortriptyline (Pamelor) so we can adjust the dose by tiny amounts. It’s really helped both of us. Jamie also takes 1 mg of melatonin to help him fall asleep – that has helped, too.

    By the way, thanks for telling me about Power-ade. I don’t know if they’ve changed the formulation in the past few years or if I was just thinking of some other product, but it does have sodium – a little less than Gatorade but close – and I was glad to be able to buy what was on sale last week (the Power-ade)! Thanks –

    Sue

    • Lori

      Oh I know. It was on sale at Kroger and we went in and bought a ton! It is a little lower in sodium, but I just don’t have it in me to purchase the competition.

Leave a Reply

